Your Word is Truth

Sorrow for My Sin

Posted on: May 24, 2011

I am learning about my own heart these days through some rather harsh treatment I received. All of this has been for my good. (Romans 8:28) I have learned from the Holy Spirit that love is the answer. Paul, in talking about putting to death the “earthly things,” says also in Colossians 3:14 “And above all these put on love, which binds everything together in perfect harmony.”

I am learning the absolute necessity of the people of God (and especially for those of us who claim that we cling to Biblical inerrancy) to obey these commands in Colossians even in the midst of passionate discourses on apologetics, or at home with our children, or in church meetings, or at the little league ballgame. I am learning a deep sorrow for my own lack of love for those that I may be arguing against. I am learning of my desperate need to obey God’s command that I be filled with the Holy Spirit moment by moment, every day, every year, until Jesus comes back for His bride.

I am learning much about how much He loves His genuine bride, the church of the living God! I am relearning all that Jesus taught in the amazing sermon on the mount. I am learning of the need for sorrow for my sin – and a radical reorganizing of my thoughts in order to align them with those of the Holy Spirit and His written Word. He has been gentle but firm with me over these last few weeks…He is teaching me that I will need to apologize to those who I have wounded and not instructed patiently – 2 Tim. 4:2. I am learning that I must read the whole verse or the whole paragraph or the whole chapter or the whole New Testament…and above all things put on love. This is an amazing love. It is the pure unadulterated love of God manifested in the face of Jesus Christ, in the Words of Christ, in the gospel of Christ and in the teaching of Christ. It is radically exposing my sin. So I am sorrowful and apologetic and wounded and forgiving and hopeful.

Forgive me Lord.
I love you Lord. Help me to feed Your sheep!
Amen

Love in Christ,
Rod

1 Response to "Sorrow for My Sin"

Amen! Hallelujah! I want to stand up and cheer! I thank God for the work He is doing in your life. You are in our prayers and we know God has wonderful things in store for you. Keep looking up!

Leave a comment